top of page

Impressive Journey Away from Work at Bagan Complex

Travelling has always been my favorite hobby, but with increasing responsibilities of my job profile, I hardly find time to travel abroad. Nevertheless, my job had surprises to offer sometime. This time, I was to head towards a conference in Nyaung U. Well! This is a bustling town of Myanmar that has few ancient wonders to offer to the visitors. To be more precise, this is the only commercial hub that is also noted for the location beside Ayeryarwady River in the archaeological zone of Bagan.



The name of Bagan excited me because I knew this 26 square mile area that provides impressive sight. It had only a three-day staying plan at Bagan, with one full day that I can spend exploring. Since, I could afford twenty-four hours at this most active part of Myanmar; I planned a quick itinerary that could make my day eventful. The bicycle is one of the ideal ways to get around Myanmar.


Since my journey was for official purpose I didn’t have to take much pain in arrangements for hotel and trips. Indo china travel was the proprietor who planned my stay and made arrangements accordingly so that my Myanmar tour was confortable.


Exploring Temple complexes from above:


The first adventure that Bagan offers to the tourist is Hot Air Balloon. I woke up early in the morning and headed towards the temples. It was cold enough to shiver in the early February morning. The journey in the balloon started late night just before the sunrise and lasted for about one hour. This was one of the most amazing adventures that I will cherish all life-long. The journey helped me achieve a bird’s eye view of whole Bagan Complex with 5000 pagodas, mountains, rivers and temples. The winds were really stronger with chilling effect that made me shiver. This wonderful Ballooning Flight over Bagan is available at affordable rates. With the balloon soaring above higher and higher the clear blue sky and the evergreen field with scattered brown temples as dots make the journey memorable. The Champagne toast and refreshments offered at the balloon is well enjoyed at the heights and photographic eyes that capture the views.




Expedition around the temple complex:


The next activity was to spend all day loitering around the temple complexes of Bagan thus, making it perfect to visit the whole of temple complex till sunset. Watching the dropping sun at the background of the temple that was built in the 11th century to the 13th century was a pleasure to my eyes. The excitement that ran down my spinal cord was because of the “finest sight in the world” as described by Marco Polo still stood as the evidence of greatest infrastructure that was built in the ancient ages. The plains as far as the eyes could see was covered with several Buddhist Temple and pagodas that are the greatest archaeological structures that have stood the test of time through ages. The impressive vision and unforgettable memories that I gathered in the plains was something that I will treasure all my life.


Travelling down the local markets:



As I said earlier that my plan was to gather as many memories as I could, I headed towards the local market after visiting the temple ended with the crimson hues of the setting sun. Located at the northeastern part of Bagan is the Nyaung U Village that has a wonderful local village that sells almost all goods that too categorized in different sections. I first walked around the market exploring the items available there. The list included fresh vegetables, rice, and everything else that a human being might require daily. I had ample scope to mix with the local folk thus studying a minute part of their life. The market is located close to one most important structure called the Shwezgon Pagoda considered as the holiest of all in Bagan. The journey and exploration were successful.


Taking a bite of Burmese Cuisine:


My day ended with a wonderful dinner that included local food from a renowned restaurant. The menu I ordered for was Burmese Fish curry which included a gruel that sticks to the fish and had a lingering taste of onion and garlic punched together; garnished salad was served with the fermented fish and chili flake sauce. My menu included deep fried tofu that was stuffed with sauté seasonings like cabbage, sauces, chilies and also sticky rice that was served with coconuts shredding. I must say this gourmet of delicacies were something that I would like to taste millions of time.


Oh! Yes, I will also need to mention famous local street food that is available at the street side eateries - Burmese nan-flat bread and Pe Byounk that comprises of boiled peas and an Indian-style naan. I tasted this delicacy for free from the local folks I made friends with. Mohinga was my favorite and this was served as breakfast in my hotel. The dish comprised of rice noodles that were filled in a bowl with a fish soup and some fried fritters. Boiled Egg is an addition to the delicacy.


Thus, my Myanmar luxury tour ended with a good note from the locals who promised to provide the same warm welcome each time I come back.

bottom of page